Lecanto Middle School proudly presents “Thoroughly Modern Millie JR” to the community of Citrus County and surrounding areas.

“Thoroughly Modern Millie JR” is a spunky tale of romance, intrigue and hidden identities set in the dazzling backdrop of 1920s New York. The show runs approximately an hour and 10 minutes with no intermission. Showtimes are at 6 p.m. Friday, March 15, and 2 p.m. Saturday, March 16, at the Curtis Peterson Auditorium at Lecanto High School. Tickets are $5 for adults, $3 for all students, and children younger than 5 are free.

“It is such an important endeavor to support the arts in public education,” said Ariel Cuellar, English-Language Arts teacher and Drama Club sponsor. “These students have put their heart and soul into this production, and we hope that we will see a lot of support for them.”

Cast members are Kayley Boston, Lauren Brady, Lucia Calascione, Rebecca Cissell, Kiera Costello, Kailani DeJesus, Annabelle Ehmke, Cecilia Foster, Skeilur Glenn, Maria Goff, Eleni Gort, Clarissa Harper, Kianna Johnson, Kaelyn Kimbrell, Emma Kommenda, Sarah Lamb, Cherish Le, Chris Le, Josie Maglio, Joey Monka, Ava Moody, Jimmy Mosley, Mayella Nelson, Dylan Novak, Carly Orlando-Evans, Carson Quinn, Christian Raber, Brook Richey, Aiden Bice, Francesca Sifre, Isabella Underwood, Alyssa Valente and Kimberly Valente.

The stage crew created the set pieces and props. Those students include Lillian Votaw, Logan Throneburg, Dimitri Spaulding, Mackenzie Schaefer, Kenneth Rollason, Kali Greene, Noah Orlando-Evans, and Lia Kobel. Science teacher Pat Bartello also helped with set building this year.

“Our MVP goes to our incredible stage manager, Joshua Dingler, who is a Math-ESE teacher at LMS,” Cuellar said. “Special thank-you to Don McCormick for his last-minute set building to complete the sets for the show, and Julie and Lou Miele for creating a set of 1920s phones for our office scenes. Thank you!”

The perkatois (backdrops) were all hand-painted by the advanced art students at LMS under the careful direction of their art teacher, Hilary Hewitt. Those students were Aailya Horton, Shreya Lachireddy, Danielle Bryer, Josie Maglio, Mikayla Riley, Jack Watson, Kartik Radidia, Mya Connor, Cherish Le, Myrdelle Bois, Jorgie Colantuono, Emma Maldonado, Riya Patel, Dev Radadia, Alaila Raves-Alvelo, Alexis Rodriguez, Bethany Sarson and Michel Wilson.

The show could not have happened without the time, vision, dedication and direction of choral program director Joellen Collazo, band program director Kelsey Crawford and Ariel Cuellar.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.